top of page

Reviewing 50 Shades

The subject on everyone's lips lately is the 50 Shades books and movie. I'll start by saying I am not a fan. The writing is terrible and I can believe it originated as fanfiction though I've read fanfiction that was so much better. The characters are one dimensional and not very likeable and the interactions between them are disturbing, the sex is absolutely not representative of the BDSM lifestyle. When I first heard the book would be turned into a movie I thought, now how are they going to translate this drivel into a movie that can be seen in mainstream theaters? The fact that I'm hearing reports that the movie is boring tells me they've failed. I mean, it's a supposed love story centered around a couple, their relationship and sexual exploits yet the movie is boring. Think about that.

And before you start jumping down my throat about "oh I bet you didn't even read the books, haters gonna hate" yadda yadda let me say I did manage to wade through the first book, throwing it across the room at least half a dozen times. On the plus side, my spackling skills have vastly improved. The other books I've gleaned information about from bloggers who have endured them and written a blow by blow account of each chapter. Perhaps one day I may attempt to venture through the sequels on my own, if the lambs ever stop screaming.

What bothers me though is the fact that I have to actually defend this movie. The review heard around the world is the clip of an Australian reviewer who absolutely torched 50 Shades on a local morning show. The problem is, her review was filled with so many blanket statements regurgitated from the internet that I got the impression she wrote it while sitting in the parking lot of the movie theater before she went in to see it, if she even saw it at all. Yes, she may have been trying to avoid spoilers but she made zero specifics and that's what bugs me. If you're going to critique something, whatever it is, you really should try to keep an open mind. If you go in intending to hate something, you're going to hate it. At the very least though, you should actually make the attempt to read, watch or at least research whatever it is you're going to give your opinion on otherwise you're really no different than the "idiots" who are fans of the thing you're against.

Now if you want to read a review of someone who actually saw the movie take a look at this. This is why I'm against the 50 Shades phenomenon and ticked off that I felt the need to come to its defense. http://www.mamamia.com.au/rogue/fifty-shades-of-grey-review-rosie-waterland/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page