top of page
Writer's pictureNoemi Betancourt

Diary of a Word Nerd


Hail and welcome to the blog portion of my site. Like most authors, I've been writing since I was a kid. Seven years old, to be exact. I'd started reading when I was three because my mother taught me how to speak via writing on a whiteboard. By the time I reached kindergarten I was devouring books so fast that the penguin who taught my first grade class sent me to help the library penguin when I outpaced the rest of my grade in the See Spot Run books. I'd blasted through every book in the classroom including Pope John Paul II's biography (yawn).


Anyway, I remember reading The Velveteen Rabbit and The Steadfast Tin Soldier and absolutely hating their endings. I felt like the characters got robbed of a happy ending so I gave them one in what I guess could be called fanfiction. I called the story The Velveteen Doll (original, I know) and blended both stories together. I don't remember the details anymore but I know that I enjoyed writing it so much that I kept doing it. So, 30 mumblety years later and I'm still going strong. I still like writing Fantasy stories but in recent years I've gravitated towards Romance and Mystery. I read a lot of different genres and will sometimes blend them together when plotting a story.

I like to write stories I myself would enjoy reading and I've self-published several books over the years after editing the crap out of them. Personally I don't think they're half bad but well, you be the judge. I'll be blogging about my writing experiences and frustrations but I will also be writing about other things as well. In my mumblety years on this planet I've worked retail, been a chef, traveled, loved, and lost, and have a whole slew of opinions about everything.


That being said I will get political on here from time to time. I know people like to tell writers, actors, musicians etc. to stick to their craft but as a Puerto Rican woman with friends and family of all walks of life it is my right as a voting American to express my opinions and concerns. If you don't like it, you don't have to stay here and you don't have to read my stuff. My writing features characters of color, members of the LGBTQ+ community, sex, violence, swearing, and difficult subject matter at times so if you don't like what's in my blog you won't like what's in my books.

It won't all hard hitting journalistic pieces on here though, I'm just not cut out for that kind of thing. As you can probably tell I have a snarky sense of humor and lots of varied interests so I hope you'll find this blog a pretty entertaining ride. Take care everybody, stay safe, and I'll talk to you again soon.


Lata potatas!



Comments


bottom of page